Skip Navigation Links
Licensing
Laws
Continuing Education
Employer Information
Nursing Practice
Advanced Practice
Nursing Programs
Alternative Program
Monitoring
Alabama Board of Nursing
FAQ - Reinstatement of Lapsed License

Q. Will I have to retake Board’s or NCLEX before reinstating my license back to the active status?

No, you are not required to retake the Board’s or NCLEX in order to regain an active status.

Q. What is the Reinstatement fee?

The fee for reinstatement is $225 ($150 reinstatement, $75 renewal).

Q. How many contact hours will I need to Reinstate my license?

You need to have 24 contact hours.  CE for Reinstatement must be earned within the past 24 months from the date we receive your application.  For further information regarding continuing education please refer to the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website at www.abn.alabama.gov.

Q. Can I apply for Reinstatement of my license online?

Yes, you can complete the application and pay the fee using a credit or debit card under the online services section of the Board’s website at www.abn.alabama.gov.

Q. If I apply for Reinstatement online, will I still need to submit copies of my CE certificates?

Yes, you are still required to submit copies of your certificates.  Certificates can be faxed to 334-293-5201 attention Javonda Kennedy.

Q.  Is there a temporary permit available while I earn my contact hours for Reinstatement?

No, a temporary permit is not available for reinstatement applicants.

Q. Can I apply for Reinstatement before earning the contact hours?

No, you must have the contact hours completed prior to submitting the application.

Q. What is the CE earning period for Reinstatement?

Contact hours must be earned within the past 24 months from the date we received the application. Therefore, it depends on when the Reinstatement is submitted.

Q. Do I need to take specific courses in order to reinstate, such as a refresher course or college courses?

No, you are not required to take specific courses. You are only required to have a total of 24 contact hours from approved providers.

Q. I’ve been licensed in another state. Will I need verification of licensure from that state?

No, we do not require verification of licensure from other states for Reinstatement.

Q. I held an Alabama license in the past. I also hold licensure in other states. I would like my Alabama license to be active again. Do I reinstate or endorse my license to get it back to the active status?

Once you’ve had an Alabama license, you always have an Alabama license. If you did not keep it current, then the status is lapsed and you will need to reinstate it. You cannot endorse on a lapsed license.

Q. How do I get my contact hours?

You may search for CE Providers in your area and browse through a list of upcoming CE opportunities under the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website at www.abn.alabama.gov. You can also search the internet for continuing education for nurses.  Keep in mind, that MEDCEU (the online company) contact hours are not accepted by the Alabama Board of Nursing.

Q. How will Reinstatement affect upcoming license renewals effective dates?

RN’s reinstating their license between now and 08/31/2016 will receive an active license with an expiration date of 12/31/2016.

LPN’s reinstating their license between now and 08/31/2015 will receive an active license with an expiration date of 12/31/2015.

Nurses whose licenses are reinstated shall accrue for license renewal one contact hour for each calendar month remaining in the earning period after reinstatement.  Please refer to the prorated chart listed under the Continuing Ed section of the Board’s website at www.abn.alabama.gov.  Contact hours earned for reinstatement of a lapsed license may not be used toward the continuing education requirement for the next license renewal.


Licensing